Dale Hanaman re-elected for a third year as president of the historical society

JEFFERSON, Iowa, Dec. 2, 2017 — The nominees for 2018 officers and members of the board of directors of the Greene County Historical Society were approved by unanimous acclimation of the membership on Friday, Dec. 1, when the organization had its annual business meeting at the Greenewood Center here.

Serving as president for a third year will be Dale Hanaman, of Rippey.  Other officers elected are Nancy Hanaman, of Rippey, vice-president and program director; Joyce Ausberger, of Jefferson, secretary; Becki Cunningham, of Paton, treasurer, and Ces Brunow, of Jefferson, as past-president.  The executive director Roger Aegerter, of Jefferson, is a hired employee, not an elected official, and he will continue in his position.

The 2018 officers of the historical society are (left to right) Nancy Hanaman, Ces Brunow, Joyce Ausberger, Dale Hanaman and Becki Cunningham.

Two new members of the board of directors were elected — former secretary Margaret Hamilton, of Jefferson, and Cindy Deal, of Jefferson.  They will join the following on the board: Nick Foster, of Jefferson; Carol John, of Jefferson; Dallas Schrader, of Jefferson; Paul White, of Churdan, and Chuck Offenburger, of Cooper.

The elected officers are also members of the board.

The “community contacts” for the historical society — the people who take RSVPs and other messages for the organization — are Dawn Rudolph, of Scranton; Janice Gilley, of Grand Junction; Marilynn Hoskinson, of Jefferson; Virginia Carlson, for Paton; Liz Guess, Churdan; Bette Molle, Cooper, and Mary Weaver, Rippey.

And here is the line-up for the 13 functioning committees that operate the society:

Acquisitions: Roger Aegerter, Janet Durlam, Diane Piepel, John Turpin.

Artifact Database: Margaret Hamilton, Abby Hamilton.

Building Oversight: Roger Aegerter, Paul White, Dallas Schrader.

Educational Outreach: Janet Durlam, Roger Aegerter.

Exhibits: Janet Durlam, Diane Piepel.

Fairgrounds Facility & Threshing Bee: Nick Foster.

Historian: Lois Clark.

Membership: Dale Hanaman.

Programs: Nancy Hanaman, Ces Brunow, Chuck Offenburger.

Public Relations: Chuck Offenburger, Ces Brunow.

Refreshments: Denise Harberts.

School House: Marilynn Hoskinson, Becki Cunningham.

Spelling Bee: Marilynn Hoskinson.

The business meeting was held after members joined those dining in the congregate meals program for a big lunch.  And 10 players in a “Saxophone Ensemble” from the Greene County High School band program provided excellent holiday music during the luncheon.


Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


How To Get Involved
title tag Calendar of Events
title tag Membership & Donations
Help us grow! Donate, become a member, or renew your membership today!
see more arrow
title tag Historical Markers
Did you know there were so many historical sites in this county? See many of them on the map here!
see more arrow
title tag Videos
See interviews with historical figures, events and programs we have recorded, and much more!
see more arrow
title tag Historical Trivia

How many courthouse structures have been built on the site of the current Greene County Courthouse?



There have been three courthouses built where the Greene County Courthouse stands today.  Ground was broken on the current courthouse in November of 1915, the cornerstone was set in May 1916 and the new building was dedicated in October of 1917. The centennial celebration of the courthouse is already underway, with events being planned by the “Courthouse 100” committee, with support from the Greene County Historical Society.  You can learn more about the courthouse history and the celebration plans on the Facebook page “Courthouse 100: Greene County, Iowa.”


Sorry. Try Again!

title tag Featured Image Archive
This is a gallery of our featured images which are no longer viewable on the home page. See if you have missed any by clicking here!