Meet the latest historic plaque nominees

JEFFERSON, Iowa, Sept. 13, 2016 — A second “Historical Plaque Walk” will be held on Sunday, Sept. 18, beginning at 2 p.m. at the Greene County Historical Museum here.  This walk will actually be called the “Historical Plaque Nominee Walk,” because it will feature seven nominees to be honored eventually with bronze plaques on the brick pillars around the downtown square.  Last year’s first walk featured 10 other people or events of note in Greene County history, and their stories are now told in plaques on the pillars.

An opportunity for the second round of nominations was available to the public through the end of June, and seven were received.

Victor Hugo Lovejoy in 1925 family photoCROPPED
Victor Hugo Lovejoy of the Jefferson Bee newspaper

Those being portrayed during the walk Sunday afternoon include Iowa Supreme Court Justice Elma Gates Albert, legendary journalist Victor Hugo Lovejoy, Beta Tau Delta charitable sorority, the entrepreneurial early business Milligan Brothers Lumber Grain & Coal, circus promoter Yankee Robinson, Spring Lake county park, and early educator Azor Mills.

Each nominee will be portrayed by area residents costumed for the part.

The Jefferson Matters: Main Street program received a Greene County Community Foundation grant for $1,600, the cost of one plaque.  So, following the Historical Plaque Nominee Walk, those who’ve heard the stories are invited to return to the Greene County Historical Society for free refreshments and to vote for the nominee that should receive this first plaque.  Another plaque honoring one of the nominees, Milligan Brothers Lumber Grain & Coal, is being financed by John and Kathy Milligan, of Jefferson, descendants of the Milligan brothers.  Plaques for the other new nominees will be made and posted as funding becomes available.

The nominees and actors portraying them on Sunday are as follows:

Victor Hugo Lovejoy – Darren Jackson.

Spring Lake – Jean Van Gilder.

Milligan Brothers Lumber, Grain & Coal – Don Van Gilder.

Justice Elma Gates Albert – Alan Robinson.

Azor Mills – Rob Hoyt.

Yankee Robinson – Andrew McGinn.

Beta Tau Delta sorority – Cassie Dozier and Anita Van Horn.

This event is co-sponsored by Jefferson Matters: Main Street’s promotion committee and the Greene County Historical Society.  It will be a part of “Fall Fest” on the square, with activities throughout the afternoon.


Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


How To Get Involved
title tag Calendar of Events
title tag Membership & Donations
Help us grow! Donate, become a member, or renew your membership today!
see more arrow
title tag Historical Markers
Did you know there were so many historical sites in this county? See many of them on the map here!
see more arrow
title tag Videos
See interviews with historical figures, events and programs we have recorded, and much more!
see more arrow
title tag Historical Trivia

How many courthouse structures have been built on the site of the current Greene County Courthouse?



There have been three courthouses built where the Greene County Courthouse stands today.  Ground was broken on the current courthouse in November of 1915, the cornerstone was set in May 1916 and the new building was dedicated in October of 1917. The centennial celebration of the courthouse is already underway, with events being planned by the “Courthouse 100” committee, with support from the Greene County Historical Society.  You can learn more about the courthouse history and the celebration plans on the Facebook page “Courthouse 100: Greene County, Iowa.”


Sorry. Try Again!

title tag Featured Image Archive
This is a gallery of our featured images which are no longer viewable on the home page. See if you have missed any by clicking here!